Mick Tingelhoff is the 2015 Senior Committee Nominee

August 22, 2014 HOF

Dermontti Dawson is the only Hall of Fame center to play in the NFL in the last 20 years. Go back 30 years, and the only other HOF centers are Mike Webster and Dwight Stephenson. Go back a few more years, and you only get to add Jim Langer. In fact, since 1975, the only […]

Read the full article →

Most Hall of Famers on an NFL Team

June 28, 2014 HOF

Today’s trivia is a straightforward one: only one team in NFL history has fielded 11 players who are currently members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Can you name that team? Tweet

Read the full article →

2014 Hall of Fame Candidates

February 1, 2014 HOF

Tonight, the newest members of the Class of 2014 will be announced. Here are the 15 finalists: Rushing Receiving Rk Name Pos From To AP1 PB St CarAV G Att Yds TD Lng Rec Yds TD Lng 1 Derrick Brooks LB 1995 2008 5 11 14 140 224 2 Marvin Harrison WR 1996 2008 3 […]

Read the full article →

Marvin Harrison Should Be A First-Ballot Hall of Famer

January 14, 2014 HOF

In a couple of weeks, the newest class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame will be announced. Only five modern-era wide receivers have been selected enshrinement on their first ballot: Jerry Rice, Paul Warfield, Steve Largent, Raymond Berry, and Lance Alworth. This year, in his first year of eligibility, Marvin Harrison is one of […]

Read the full article →

John Elway: The Quarterback Version of Dick Butkus

September 3, 2013 History

The consensus view on John Elway is clear. He was the greatest draft prospect ever, a league MVP, a two-time Super Bowl champion, a Hall of Famer, and one of the most clutch quarterbacks in football history. But that’s not necessarily what the numbers say. In my quarterback ranking system, which rewards efficiency and longevity […]

Read the full article →

Can you name the last non-first ballot HOF Quarterback?

March 2, 2013 HOF

Kurt Warner will be eligible for the Hall of Fame in 2 years, making him a potential member of the Class of 2015. Warner is an interesting candidate, and while I suspect he does get in on the first ballot, it’s certainly not a given. Warner won more than 8 games just four times in […]

Read the full article →

2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class

February 2, 2013 HOF

The process took over eight hours this year, and according to Rick Gosselin, over one hour was spent on Bill Parcells alone. Another HOF voter, Tony Grossi, said that Parcells took 55 minutes and Art Modell was discussed for over a half hour, while Cris Carter and Jerome Bettis were the two most heavily-debated players. […]

Read the full article →

How Super Bowl XLVII could impact the HOF chances of certain 49ers

January 30, 2013 HOF

On Sunday, I looked at how the football legacies of certain Ravens would be affected by a win in Super Bowl XLVII; today I will do the same for the 49ers. And the best place to start is with the only surefire Hall of Famer on the team. Randy Moss turns 36 in a couple […]

Read the full article →

How Super Bowl XLVII could impact the HOF chances of certain Ravens

January 27, 2013 HOF

Being a Super Bowl champion is a pretty nice bullet to place on your Hall of Fame resume. For players like Jerry Rice or Peyton Manning (or say, Steve Largent or Dan Marino), the failure to acquire a ring wouldn’t have prevented their induction; on the other hand, would Lynn Swann or Paul Hornung or […]

Read the full article →

The Hall of Fame announces the 127 nominees for the Class of 2013

September 29, 2012 HOF

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced the nominees for the Class of 2013: John Lynch, Michael Strahan, Steve McNair and Morten Andersen are among 13 first-year eligible players for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Safety Lynch, defensive end Strahan, quarterback McNair and kicker Andersen join offensive linemen Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen, […]

Read the full article →