Quarterback Trivia: Passing Titles, MVPs, and Titles

June 29, 2013 Quarterbacks

Sid Luckman did it twice. Two Packers quarterbacks, Arnie Herber and Irv Comp, did it with help from Don Hutson. Sammy Baugh did it as a rookie in 1937. In five out of eleven seasons from 1936 to 1946, the league leader in passing yards also won the NFL championship. Otto Graham led the AAFC […]

Read the full article →

Checkdowns: 2012 All-Pro Teams Announced by the Associated Press

January 12, 2013 Review

Here are the selections: First Team QB: Peyton Manning, Broncos. RB: Adrian Peterson, Vikings (unanimous), Marshawn Lynch, Seahawks. FB: Vonta Leach, Ravens. TE: Tony Gonzalez, Falcons. WR: Calvin Johnson, Lions; Brandon Marshall, Bears. OT: Duane Brown, Texans; Ryan Clady, Broncos. OG: Jahri Evans, Saints; Mike Iupati, 49ers. C: Max Unger, Seahawks. DE: J.J. Watt, Texans […]

Read the full article →

NYT Fifth Down: Post-week 17

January 2, 2013 Checkdowns

At the New York Times Fifth Down Blog this week, I explain my choices for the major awards this season. Offensive Player of the Year: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings Generally, the Most Valuable Player award is given to the best quarterback, while the Offensive Player of the Year is usually the player with the most […]

Read the full article →

Trivia of the Day – Sunday, December 16th

December 16, 2012 Trivia

What do you give to the man who already has everything? How about a Comeback Player of the Year Award? Right now, the choice for AP Comeback Player of the Year is a two-horse race between Peyton Manning and Adrian Peterson. If Manning wins the award, it will put him in pretty rare territory: he’d […]

Read the full article →