≡ Menu

The one constant in the Cardinals passing game

The one constant in the Cardinals passing game.

When Tom Brady takes the field as the Patriots starting quarterback in week 1, it will be his 12th consecutive appearance as New England’s opening-week starter. That’s the longest streak in the league, with Eli Manning (9 in 2013), Drew Brees (8), Philip Rivers (8), Tony Romo (7), and Matt Schaub (7) being the only other quarterbacks to start for the same team in each week one since 2007.

On the other hand, the Cardinals will be trotting out their fifth different week 1 starter in as many seasons. Arizona fans hope Carson Palmer will be the right man to finally replace Kurt Warner, after Derek Anderson (2010), Kevin Kolb (2011), and John Skelton (2012) failed. If Chad Henne starts the opener for Jacksonville, that will make it four different quarterbacks in four straight years for the Jaguars (following Blaine Gabbert, Luke McCown, and David Garrard). Palmer’s old team, the Raiders, is the only other team with three different starters the last three years (Matt Flynn, Palmer, and Jason Campbell).

The longest streak of consecutive week one starters is a tie between a pair of Class of ’83 teammates. John Elway started in week 1 every season of his sixteen year career, while Dan Marino started every week 1 from 1984 until 1999. Our games started data only goes back to 1960, but I doubt we would find a sorrier pre-1960 streak than the Chicago Bears from 1998 to 2006. Over a nine-year period, Chicago never had the same quarterback start in week 1 in consecutive years. The full list, beginning in ’98: Erik Kramer, Shane Matthews, Cade McNown, Matthews again, Jim Miller, Kordell Stewart, Rex Grossman, Kyle Orton, and Grossman again. The Ravens, from ’97 to ’03, had seven different week-one starters: Vinny Testaverde, Jim Harbaugh, Scott Mitchell, Tony Banks, Elvis Grbac, Chris Redman, and Kyle Boller, and that doesn’t include Trent Dilfer.

Brandon Weeden is bringing some stability to the Browns quarterback position: if by some chance Jason Campbell steals the job in preseason, he would be Cleveland’s seventh week one starting quarterback in seven years (Charlie Frye in 2007, Derek Anderson, Brady Quinn, Jake Delhomme, Colt McCoy, Weeden, and Campbell). The table below shows each team’s week 1 starters in each of the last ten seasons, along with the projected starter in 2013 according to Footballguys.com (with EJ Manuel (Buffalo), Chad Henne (Jacksonville), Nick Foles (Philadelphia) and Mark Sanchez (New York, for the fifth straight year) projected to win the four open camp jobs.)

NWETom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom BradyTom Brady
MIAJay FiedlerJay FiedlerGus FrerotteDaunte CulpepperTrent GreenChad PenningtonChad PenningtonChad HenneChad HenneRyan TannehillRyan Tannehill
BUFDrew BledsoeDrew BledsoeJ.P. LosmanJ.P. LosmanJ.P. LosmanTrent EdwardsTrent EdwardsTrent EdwardsRyan FitzpatrickRyan FitzpatrickEJ Manuel
NYJVinny TestaverdeChad PenningtonChad PenningtonChad PenningtonChad PenningtonBrett FavreMark SanchezMark SanchezMark SanchezMark SanchezMark Sanchez
BALKyle BollerKyle BollerKyle BollerSteve McNairSteve McNairJoe FlaccoJoe FlaccoJoe FlaccoJoe FlaccoJoe FlaccoJoe Flacco
CINJon KitnaCarson PalmerCarson PalmerCarson PalmerCarson PalmerCarson PalmerCarson PalmerCarson PalmerAndy DaltonAndy DaltonAndy Dalton
PITTommy MaddoxTommy MaddoxBen RoethlisbergerCharlie BatchBen RoethlisbergerBen RoethlisbergerBen RoethlisbergerDennis DixonBen RoethlisbergerBen RoethlisbergerBen Roethlisberger
CLEKelly HolcombJeff GarciaTrent DilferCharlie FryeCharlie FryeDerek AndersonBrady QuinnJake DelhommeColt McCoyBrandon WeedenBrandon Weeden
HOUDavid CarrDavid CarrDavid CarrDavid CarrMatt SchaubMatt SchaubMatt SchaubMatt SchaubMatt SchaubMatt SchaubMatt Schaub
INDPeyton ManningPeyton ManningPeyton ManningPeyton ManningPeyton ManningPeyton ManningPeyton ManningPeyton ManningKerry CollinsAndrew LuckAndrew Luck
TENSteve McNairSteve McNairSteve McNairKerry CollinsVince YoungVince YoungKerry CollinsVince YoungMatt HasselbeckJake LockerJake Locker
JAXMark BrunellByron LeftwichByron LeftwichByron LeftwichDavid GarrardDavid GarrardDavid GarrardDavid GarrardLuke McCownBlaine GabbertChad Henne
DENJake PlummerJake PlummerJake PlummerJake PlummerJay CutlerJay CutlerKyle OrtonKyle OrtonKyle OrtonPeyton ManningPeyton Manning
SDGDrew BreesDrew BreesDrew BreesPhilip RiversPhilip RiversPhilip RiversPhilip RiversPhilip RiversPhilip RiversPhilip RiversPhilip Rivers
OAKRich GannonRich GannonKerry CollinsAaron BrooksJosh McCownJaMarcus RussellJaMarcus RussellJason CampbellJason CampbellCarson PalmerMatt Flynn
KANTrent GreenTrent GreenTrent GreenTrent GreenDamon HuardBrodie CroyleBrodie CroyleMatt CasselMatt CasselMatt CasselAlex Smith
NYGKerry CollinsKurt WarnerEli ManningEli ManningEli ManningEli ManningEli ManningEli ManningEli ManningEli ManningEli Manning
WASPatrick RamseyMark BrunellPatrick RamseyMark BrunellJason CampbellJason CampbellJason CampbellDonovan McNabbRex GrossmanRobert Griffin IIIRobert Griffin III
DALQuincy CarterVinny TestaverdeDrew BledsoeDrew BledsoeTony RomoTony RomoTony RomoTony RomoTony RomoTony RomoTony Romo
PHIDonovan McNabbDonovan McNabbDonovan McNabbDonovan McNabbDonovan McNabbDonovan McNabbDonovan McNabbKevin KolbMichael VickMichael VickNick Foles
CHIKordell StewartRex GrossmanKyle OrtonRex GrossmanRex GrossmanKyle OrtonJay CutlerJay CutlerJay CutlerJay CutlerJay Cutler
GNBBrett FavreBrett FavreBrett FavreBrett FavreBrett FavreAaron RodgersAaron RodgersAaron RodgersAaron RodgersAaron RodgersAaron Rodgers
MINDaunte CulpepperDaunte CulpepperDaunte CulpepperBrad JohnsonTarvaris JacksonTarvaris JacksonBrett FavreBrett FavreDonovan McNabbChristian PonderChristian Ponder
DETJoey HarringtonJoey HarringtonJoey HarringtonJon KitnaJon KitnaJon KitnaMatthew StaffordMatthew StaffordMatthew StaffordMatthew StaffordMatthew Stafford
ATLDoug JohnsonMichael VickMichael VickMichael VickJoey HarringtonMatt RyanMatt RyanMatt RyanMatt RyanMatt RyanMatt Ryan
CARRodney PeeteJake DelhommeJake DelhommeJake DelhommeJake DelhommeJake DelhommeJake DelhommeMatt MooreCam NewtonCam NewtonCam Newton
TAMBrad JohnsonBrad JohnsonBrian GrieseChris SimmsJeff GarciaJeff GarciaByron LeftwichJosh FreemanJosh FreemanJosh FreemanJosh Freeman
NORAaron BrooksAaron BrooksAaron BrooksDrew BreesDrew BreesDrew BreesDrew BreesDrew BreesDrew BreesDrew BreesDrew Brees
SEAMatt HasselbeckMatt HasselbeckMatt HasselbeckMatt HasselbeckMatt HasselbeckMatt HasselbeckMatt HasselbeckMatt HasselbeckTarvaris JacksonRussell WilsonRussell Wilson
SFOJeff GarciaTim RattayTim RattayAlex SmithAlex SmithJ.T. O'SullivanShaun HillAlex SmithAlex SmithAlex SmithColin Kaepernick
STLKurt WarnerMarc BulgerMarc BulgerMarc BulgerMarc BulgerMarc BulgerMarc BulgerSam BradfordSam BradfordSam BradfordSam Bradford
ARIJeff BlakeJosh McCownKurt WarnerKurt WarnerMatt LeinartKurt WarnerKurt WarnerDerek AndersonKevin KolbJohn SkeltonCarson Palmer
  • Tim Truemper

    The history of the Chicago Bears QB “instability” goes back a long ways. I believe Sid Luckman is still the franchise leader for yards passing! In the 60’s and 70’s they churned through all kinds of QB’s. I’m counting 9 different passing leaders from 1960 through 1979. Incredible.

  • Facts

    You have the Cleveland Browns starter wrong in 2007. The opening day QB for that year was Derrick Anderson
    (according to NFL.com)

    You may wanna recheck those (and the Miami Dolphins in 2004)

  • Facts
    • Chase Stuart

      From your link:

      Browns starting QB Charlie Frye was pulled after the first quarter. His final stats: 4-of-10 for 34 yards and one interception. His replacement Derek Anderson finished 13-of-28 for 184 yards, one touchdown and one interception.